NSF Center
for Nano and Micro-
contamination Control

Egan Research Center

Northeastern University
360 Huntington Avenue
Boston, MA 02115

phone: 617.373.6012
fax: 617.373.3266

7th International Surface Cleaning Workshop

Register Now!




Call For Papers [PDF]


When: October 27 – 29th, 2010

Where: Northeastern University, Boston, MA (Raytheon Amphitheater)

What: The goal of this workshop is to increase the understanding of surface preparation and cleaning in semiconductor, FPD glass, photovoltaic and nano-bio systems. The workshop will present and discuss current and future challenges and solutions from conventional semiconductor fabrication, FPD and solar cell to nano-bio surfaces for various process and application. The workshop will give end-users, researchers and suppliers a forum to discuss new technologies, solutions and limitations in meeting surface preparation/cleaning needs to extend conventional knowledge to future nano-bio area. The Conference will include invited and contributed presentations and panel discussions.



  • New and emerging cleaning technologies
  • Physical cleaning techniques (megasonic, brush, laser, etc.) Damage issues
  • Fundamentals on particle interaction with substrates in different media
  • Post-CMP cleaning challenges and solutions
  • Surface cleaning for Cu and low-k and high-K dielectrics
  • Dry etch residues and polymer removal
  • FPD glass cleaning
  • Mask and EUV mask cleanings
  • Economical (Cost of Ownership) and environmental (EHS) impact of surface cleaning
  • Solar cell surface preparation and cleaning
  • Surface preparation and cleaning in Nanomanufacturing
  • Surface preparation and functionalization on nano-bio sensors and chips


Confirmed Speakers:

Jae Huck Choi from Samsung
Mike Corbett from Linx Consulting
Tae-Gon Kim from IMEC
Andreas Klipp from BASF
Rakesh Singh from Entegris Inc.
Shohei Shima from Ebrara Corporation
Chung-Kyung Jung from Dongbu HiTek
Kevin McLaughlin from ATMI
Takeshi Hattori from Hattori Consulting International
Ahmed Busnaina from Northeastern University
Jin-Goo Park from Hanyang University
Joel Barnett from Sematech
Michael Fury from Techcet Group
Dongsik Kim from Postech University
Richard Reidy from The University of North Texas
Mark Litchy from CT Associates
Taehoon Kim from Northeastern University
Duck Joo Moon from MCK